Station Name: ABERANGELL

[Source: Trevor Reynolds]

Date opened: 1.10.1867
Location: East side of an un-named minor road
Company on opening: Mawddwy Railway
Date closed to passengers: 1.1.1931
Date closed completely: 1.7.1951
Company on closing: Great Western Railway
Present state: The station building is extant
County: Merionethshire
OS Grid Ref: SH846100
Date of visit: Not visited

Notes: Aberangell was the exchange station for slate and timber traffic for the Hendre-Ddu narrow gauge tramway system.

'The Mawddwy Railway' was a 6.75 mile long branch line from the main Cambrian Railway (still open) at Cemmes Road with intermediate stations at Cemmaes, Aberangell and Mallwyd. Although the area was Cemmaes, the junction station was known as Cemmes Road. The branch opened in 1867 and closed to passengers in 1901, closing completely in 1908.
The line reopened 31st July 1911 as a light railway supported by several local councils. The GWR eventually took over the line and passenger services finally ended in 1931 although the line remained open for freight until the early 1950's. The line ran through several remote communities in the Upper Dovey Valley and was never going to attract enough business to be viable. The situation wasn't helped by the terminus at Dinas Mawddwy being located about half a mile from the village centre, the local terrain making it all but impossible to get it any closer.

Dinas Mawddwy station served the Minllyn Slate Quarry with a short tramway running from the station to the processing mill at the base of a steep incline down from the quarry on the hillside above.

Tickets from Michael Stewart

To see other stations on the Mawddwy Railway click on the station name: Cemmes Road & Dinas Mawddwy. No photographs are available of Cemmaes & Mallwyd

Aberangell Station in 1904
Copyright photo from John Alsop collection

Part of the Hendre-Ddu tramway can be seen to the west of the station

1887 1:10,560 OS map




[Source: Trevor Reynolds]

Home Page
Last updated: Friday, 12-May-2017 19:36:33 CEST
© 1998-2006 Disused Stations